CJA Awards Dinner 2014

Every one of the 29 Chicago Sun-Times photojournalists released by the newspaper on May 31 of this year are recipients of our Chicago Journalist of the Year Award. It is a tribute to these men and women for their exemplary and memorable documentation of Chicago stories throughout the years. Fifteen were able to attend the ceremony.
Award- winning photojournalist John White with Allen Rafalson.
CJA president Allen Rafalson presented Ann Gerber with her Lifetime Achievement Award. She has been an editor and columnist for more than a half-century and is currently writing for Inside Publications.
Former Chicago Daily News reporter Sandy Pesman and editor Chris Baum ( not shown) introduced Ann Gerber. Both once worked at Lerner Newspapers.
Dan Friedlander, a member of our CJA board of directors, is honored for his decades of service as newsletter editor.
Post-Tribune’s Stephanie Dowell is presented her award.
VanderCook College of Music student Jillian Lagerstrom plays Amazing Grace during moving tribute to fallen journalists.
Dr. Jerry Field surprises Allen Rafalson with a memorial coin for helping publicize an event in 2012 honoring Korean War veterans.
DePaul University student Gabriella Mikiewicz receives a $1,250 scholarship from Karen Petitte, president of the nonprofit Chicago Journalists Charitable Fund. Petitte also serves as treasurer.
CJA board member Frank Bennett Rowder calls names of raffle winners. He got help from Columbia College student Sydney Lawson.
Jon Sall assisted in the the tribute to his fellow Sun-Times photojournalists and is winner of a Sarah Brown Boyden Award for Online Journalism. He collaborated with Dave Hoekstra.
Chicago Sun-Times’ Health reporter Monifa Thomas holds her Boyden award.
Mary Frances Fagan reads names of Sarah Brown Boyden Award winners. She is a CJA director and spokesperson for America Airlines. The Chicago Sun-Times won 11 of the 14 categories.
CJA vice president Lloyd Weston (L) is kept busy presenting awards to Sarah Brown Boyden winners . Chicago Tribune editorial writers John McCormick and Kristen McQueary shared honors.
The invocation is given by Holy Name Cathedral Deacon Michael McCloskey.
Publicist Noreen Heron and friend.
Ellen Balmadrid sings the national anthem. She replaced the late Jimmy Damon who recently passed away.
Allen Rafalson with Ann Gerber and CJA member Gera-Lind Kotalik.
Friend Cookie Cohen congratulates Ann Gerber.
Posing are (L to R) photojournalists Andrew Nelles, Mr. and Mrs. Scott Stewart and Mr. and Mrs. Rob Hart.
Guest Susan Gould with Ann Gerber’s husband, Bernie Kaplan.
She has a job in a law office, but that doesn’t prevent Harriet Ellis from volunteering to entertain guests every year.