The 2016-2017 Sarah Brown Boyden Contest

Seeking the absolute best story from print, broadcast and online journalists.

Enter your best stories and win $500 from the prestigious Chicago Journalists Association’s annual Sarah Brown Boyden competition.


Contestants may compete in the following categories:

  • Breaking News
  • Investigations
  • Features
  • Business
  • Health / Science
  • Photography
  • Editorials
  • Editorial Cartoons
  • Commentary
  • Public Service
  • Best Series
  • Sports Story
  • Education
  • Blog
  • Politics
  • Transportation
  • Community Newspapers

All newspapers, magazines, other periodicals, radio and television stations and online journalists in the 10-county Chicago area and Northern Indiana are eligible to enter the contest, which covers the period from July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017.

Nominations should include a cover letter summarizing the content of the entry, difficulty encountered in getting the story, and results, if any. Please indicate the category you are submitting, along with contact information. More than one entry will be permitted for each category.

Please send all print, radio and TV submissions and questions to boyden@chicagocja.wpcomstaging.comYou do not need to belong to the CJA to enter.

To make your payment, click on the “Dues/Donations” tab near the top of the page. Select “Sarah Brown Boyden award fee” from the dropdown menu and click on the “Add to Cart” button. You will then be redirected to PayPal’s website to complete your order. The fee for each entry is $75.

Deadline for entries is October 31, 2017.

Sarah Brown Boyden joined the Chicago Evening American after attending Northwestern University in the 1920s and later worked at the Chicago Daily News and Chicago Sun. She died in 1989 at age 86. Her family established this fund in her honor.

We added the Daniel N. Moulton Award for the best sports story in his memory. Dan covered the hockey beat for Chicago Today and the Chicago Evening American before joining the Chicago Tribune as sports copy editor and once served as treasurer of our organization. He passed away in 2005 at age 75.

Winners will be honored at CJA’s 78th annual dinner, Friday, November 10, 2017 at the Union League Club, 65 W. Jackson Blvd., Chicago, IL.