CJA Opens Newly Revised $1,000 Dorothy Storck Award for 2023


The Chicago Journalists Association is seeking the best journalism written/produced by a woman, trans, femme or nonbinary (WTFNB) journalist, published from July 2022 to July 2023.


In 250 words, applicants must explain how they feel they embody Dorothy Storck’s trailblazing career.

Dorothy Storck was a former syndicated newspaper columnist and Pulitzer Prize winner who died in August 2015. She began her journalism career at the Chicago American, which later became known as Chicago Today. She ended her career at the Philadelphia Inquirer. She was also a U.S. Air Force squadron commander and held the rank of major before becoming a journalist.

Applicants must also meet two of three criteria. The journalist must: 

  • Live in Illinois or northwest Indiana
  • Work for an Illinois or northwest Indiana-based publication, TV or radio station
  • Write for an online publication whose work is seen within Illinois

Journalists must submit three pieces of journalism (stories, columns, packages, podcasts, documentaries, etc.) that were published or aired from July 2022 to July 2023. The work must be submitted in English. The submissions may include editorials and local news, or examples of humor, business, health/science, sports, education, transportation and the arts. Three finalists will be selected.

Winner will be announced at CJA’s 84th Anniversary Awards Ceremony, to be held Friday, Nov. 10, 2023.

The early-bird fee to submit three columns is $50. After the early-bird deadline, the fee is $75. Payments must be made via PayPal, at chicagojournalists.net. The contest is open to CJA members and non-members. Submit all entries electronically to awards@chicagojournalists.net. For further information, contact CJA at the above email, or at (773) 789-9488.

Early-bird deadline for entries is Sept. 29, 2023. Final deadline is October 6, 2023. Please include phone and email contact information.

Storck’s family and her partner, former University of Illinois at Chicago political professor Dick Simpson, established this award in her honor. 

Print and/or download a PDF version of the contest rules below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *