Dorothy Storck Award


The Chicago Journalists Association is seeking the best columns written by a print, broadcast or online journalist, published from July 2020 to July 2021, for the annual Dorothy Storck Award.


Applicants must meet two of three criteria: The columnist or commentator must live in Illinois or northwest Indiana; work for an Illinois or northwest Indiana-based publication, TV or radio station; or write for an online publication whose work is seen within Illinois.

Journalists must submit three columns or commentaries published or aired from July 2020 to July 2021.

The columns must be submitted in English. They may include editorials and local news, or examples of humor, business, health/science, sports, education, transportation and the arts. Three finalists will be selected.

Winner of the Dorothy Storck Award will be announced at CJA’s 2021 Virtual Awards Ceremony, to be held Friday, Nov. 19, 2021.

The early-bird fee to submit three columns is $50. After the early-bird deadline, the fee is $75. Payments must be made via PayPal, at chicagojournalists.netThe contest is open to CJA members and non-members.

Submit all entries electronically to For further information, contact CJA at the above email, or at (773) 789-9488.

Early-bird deadline for entries is October 8, 2021. Final deadline is October 15, 2021. Please include phone and email contact information.

Dorothy Storck was a former syndicated newspaper columnist and Pulitzer Prize winner who died in August 2015. She began her journalism career at the Chicago American, which later became known as Chicago Today. She ended her career at the Philadelphia Inquirer. She was also a U.S. Air Force squadron commander, and held the rank of major before becoming a journalist. Her family and her partner, University of Illinois at Chicago political professor Dick Simpson, established this award in her honor.