CJA Awards Dinner 2013

Each of the 29 Chicago Sun-Times photojournalists released by the newspaper on May 30, 2013 are recipients of our Chicago Journalist of the Year Award. It is a tribute to these men and women for their exemplary and memorable documentation of Chicago stories throughout the years. Fifteen were able to attend the CJA Awards Dinner.

Award-winning photojournalist John White with Allen Rafalson.
Former Chicago Daily News reporter Sandy Pesman and editor Chris Baum (not shown) introduced Ann Gerber. Both once worked at Lerner Newspapers.
Post-Tribune’s Stephanie Dowell is presented her award.
Dr. Jerry Field surprises Allen Rafalson with a memorial coin for helping publicize an event in 2012 honoring Korean War veterans.
CJA board member Frank Bennett Rowder calls names of raffle winners. He got help from Columbia College student Sydney Lawson.
Chicago Sun-Times’ Health reporter Monifa Thomas holds her Boyden award.
CJA vice president Lloyd Weston (L) is kept busy presenting awards to Sarah Brown Boyden winners . Chicago Tribune editorial writers John McCormick and Kristen McQueary shared honors.
Publicist Noreen Heron and friend.
Allen Rafalson with Ann Gerber and CJA member Gera-Lind Kotalik.
Posing are (L to R) photojournalists Andrew Nelles, Mr. and Mrs. Scott Stewart and Mr. and Mrs. Rob Hart.
She has a job in a law office, but that doesn’t prevent Harriet Ellis from volunteering to entertain guests every year.
CJA president Allen Rafalson presented Ann Gerber with her Lifetime Achievement Award. She has been an editor and columnist for more than a half-century and is currently writing for Inside Publications.
Dan Friedlander, a member of our CJA board of directors, is honored for his decades of service as newsletter editor.
VanderCook College of Music student Jillian Lagerstrom plays Amazing Grace during moving tribute to fallen journalists.
DePaul University student Gabriella Mikiewicz receives a $1,250 scholarship from Karen Petitte, president of the nonprofit Chicago Journalists Charitable Fund. Petitte also serves as treasurer.
Jon Sall assisted in the the tribute to his fellow Sun-Times photojournalists and is winner of a Sarah Brown Boyden Award for Online Journalism. He collaborated with Dave Hoekstra.
Mary Frances Fagan reads names of Sarah Brown Boyden Award winners. She is a CJA director and spokesperson for America Airlines. The Chicago Sun-Times won 11 of the 14 categories.
The invocation is given by Holy Name Cathedral Deacon Michael McCloskey.
Ellen Balmadrid sings the national anthem. She replaced the late Jimmy Damon who recently passed away.
Friend Cookie Cohen congratulates Ann Gerber.
Guest Susan Gould with Ann Gerber’s husband, Bernie Kaplan.

Photo Credits:  Jim Smestad